Down, but still blessed.

While there are many things that have happened in my life which have brought me pain and heartache, made me numb from tears, reduced my ability to walk from pain and I have lost two of my senses – sound and sight – there are things in this world that fully balance the scales for me and I am blessed by each one.

While fleeing my domestic violence attacker (who still wants to kill me), I met my amazing husband.  I know it is hard when people say “Everything happens for a reason,” but I truly believe that in this instance, the saying rings very true.  When I first met my husband, I thought he was a little bit bizarre, wondered why he was wearing an ice hockey jersey in the middle of summer, learned a few Finnish words (vittu, saatana, helvetti) when I mentioned Tampere’s other ice hockey team, and our next meeting – by chance – was on the internet when he joined the fan club that I ran for Tappara Ice Hockey team.  We married almost one year later after Skyping for hours on end each and every day.  After being married to him for almost seven years, we are still as in love as the day we married, if not more.  I am blessed.

When I lost my hearing completely and was diagnosed as profoundly Deaf, instead of leaving me, my husband and I learned sign language together.  Our communication language for the past two years has been ASL (American Sign Language) and we communicate more now than we ever did.

When book sales did not explode at the first release of CATHOOD, I was lucky enough to spot the CV of an illustrator whose drawings blew my mind.  Never in a million years did I think I would be lucky enough to work with her, but here I am, six months later, working with the ever amazing and super-talented Martu Germinario.  With the second release of CATHOOD about to make it into print, complete with full page sized illustrations that have arisen from the story itself, I count my blessings and look forward to a long and rewarding partnership with Martu.

blessed

Although I can no longer hear or use a telephone, both of my parents in Australia are fighting fit and in good health.  Facebook Messenger has allowed me to keep in contact with them and, on occasion, I am able to make Skype telephone calls with my husband translating what they say before I reply, in turn, with my overly loud voice.  I feel a bond with them and with my husband’s mum and grandmum that keeps me grounded and I feel loved and count my blessings they are still with me.

It’s been over eight months since I have been able to leave my home due to PTSD and Agoraphobia with Panic Disorder.  Being house-bound may be a dream-come-true for people who don’t want to do anything with their lives, but I am living in a city that owns my heart and I miss being outdoors.  Panic attacks are a royal pain in the rectum, but I am not the only one who has not left this house.  My two cats make sure I am entertained always, whether it be from their gorgeous little faces as they sleep or when their unexpected hyper attacks make me jump a mile while they chase each other through the house and play peek-a-boo.

While at home, I spend my full time writing my own books (while working closely with Martu), reading other people’s books in order to provide them with a professional Editorial review, and giving advice to those whose manuscript needs work.  I proof-read, copy-edit and get to experience the full realm of the literary world, which has led me to read some of the finest works imaginable.  I am grateful to all of the talented authors out there who put effort into their books, making sure they are free of spelling errors, making sure the punctuation doesn’t make reading difficult and ensuring that others are aware of the five-star books, whether on Goodreads, Twitter or Facebook.

The top ten books I have read in the past four months, in no particular order, are:

  1. Iris
  2. The Chosen Knights
  3. Beached
  4. Saving Honor
  5. Love, Lies and Hocus Pocus
  6. Now That We’re Adults
  7. Shattered Frost
  8. Squirrelly and Starlet
  9. Summons (Fable Ranger series)
  10. You Can Leave Any Time

 

I look forward to the next four months of reading, where I will have a whole new top ten list to recommend to you all.  While the books listed above are some of my favourites, there are many more books that are noteworthy.  If you feel you have a book that could benefit from a free Editorial and unbiased review, submit it to Readers’ Favorite and get a stranger’s take on what you have written.

Well, after saying what needs to be said, I can now get back to updating the layout of CATHOOD before posting my next review.

Have a wonderful week ahead, all of you. Happy reading! 🙂

– Rosie xx

One thought on “Down, but still blessed.

  1. You know the old saying, Every journey starts with a single step, right?

    Well, a journey of a thousand miles involves a lot of steps. Too many to count. I do want to share with your audience that I am now on Chapter 6 of your book, Change Your Name and Disappear. (I started yesterday).

    Right away, I can share with everyone here that you know what quality writing is about. And that’s what makes reading enjoyable. It sounds like you are on the right track with the illustrator. One could say that this was step number 4578 in that many steps for a thousand mile journey that took you out of your comfort zone.

    I have no doubt once the “mainstream” audience catches wind of your work, your success will grow like wildfire. Until then, keep on what you are doing, keep adding more work (books, posts, etc…). I’m glad you are able to share your journey with us and most importantly, your family.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

