How to be Deaf… in 3, 2, 1…

So many deadlines, so little time!  I am so excited about the upcoming book launch.  My new book, HOW TO BE DEAF, will be released to the public on 12th April and (as always), the butterflies in my stomach are holding one of their festive stampedes.

I am grateful to Matt and Kay Daigle (That Deaf Guy), Alex Abenchuchan (The Daily Moth), Dr Bill Vicars (LifePrint.com), Lyn Wiley (Author and Poet) and Charlie Swinbourne (The Limping Chicken) for allowing me to take up their valuable time, ensuring that everything is met with their stamp of approval prior to release.

frontcover

Why I wrote this book:

This is the book I wish had been available to me when I first woke up to a world of silence. In a way, I’ve written it for my younger self as well as others who have lost or are losing their hearing. I share it in the hopes of softening the impact of such a hard transition. Going from hearing to Deaf really knocks the wind out of you, but not for the reasons you would expect.

I live in hope that many people will gain a valuable insight into the Deaf world after reading this book; not just late-deafened adults but those in the medical community, mental health community and those in power.  So many people come in contact with us on a daily basis, yet are unable to tell the difference between right and wrong.

Deaf people are not broken, nor are we stupid, intellectually disabled, hearing-handicapped, hearing impaired, dumb or any of the other terms used to describe us.  Many of us shine brighter than you might think 🙂

HOW TO BE DEAF is available for pre-order now.

Let’s bridge the gap between the Deaf and hearing worlds together! 🙂

– Rosie xx

2 thoughts on “How to be Deaf… in 3, 2, 1…

Leave a Reply

