How to be Deaf… finishing touches!

With the book release for HOW TO BE DEAF just weeks away, I am at that stage of release where I am filled with excitement, dread, worry, joy… every author’s pre-release jitters.

Prior to its release, I will have one member of the Deaf community read and review the book, as well as one member of the hearing community who is interested in knowing about late-deafness and how it affects us, especially when it happens overnight.

frontcover

HOW TO BE DEAF is a non-fiction book which is written by me to my younger hearing self.  It is a real eye-opener on the differences in which Deaf and hearing people in this world are treated, and you quickly learn two new words that you possibly would never have heard of before, prior to losing your hearing:

  • AUDISM – the notion that one is superior based on one’s ability to hear or to behave in the manner of one who hears, or that life without hearing is futile and miserable, or an attitude based on pathological thinking which results in a negative stigma toward anyone who does not hear.
  • SURDOPHOBIA – a hostility, intolerance, or fear against Deaf people, Deaf culture, and the Deaf community and that resistance toward the sign languages used.

WHAT IT’S ABOUT:

After more than 40 years, living as a hearing woman in a hearing world, I woke up one day without sound. Being diagnosed as profoundly Deaf, I realised that I now lived in a world which I never knew existed. Suddenly, I was bullied, laughed at, put in the “too hard” file and abandoned by those I once proudly called “my friends.”

With my rights having been taken away by the government, being told that I was unteachable, unemployable, and then threatened with arrest for talking too loudly in public, I learned the meaning of Audism and Surdophobia. I also learned to stand up and be proactive.

This is the book I wish had been available to me when I first woke up to a world of silence. In a way, I’ve written it for my younger self as well as others who have lost or are losing their hearing. I share it in the hopes of softening the impact of such a hard transition. Going from hearing to Deaf really knocks the wind out of you, but not for the reasons you would expect.


 

You can pre-order your copy now by clicking on the giant book cover in this blog.  The book release is worldwide at a cost of $5.00 USD (plus taxes).

After living as a profoundly Deaf woman for the past 15 months, when weighing up the pros and the cons, I would definitely choose Deaf over hearing any day.  Those scratching their heads, absolutely mortified, should probably also buy this book 😉

The countdown is on! 🙂

– Rosie xx

One thought on “How to be Deaf… finishing touches!

  1. Look forward to reading your book. I am a signing, hearing woman who has been in the Deaf community for 40 years plus & have known people with similar stories. Since I started working in the field of deafness, I started to think I “became hearing at age 21” as my view of life has been seen from the Deaf community’s point of view. My goal is communication access for all. You certainly seem to have the perfect, positive approach for this life-changing event.
    From 1 author to another, I wish you the best in book sales & life. \|m/

    Like

Leave a Reply

