What I miss the most…

Not a single day goes by that people do not ask me what I miss the most about Australia.  After six years of marriage and living in a different country, I simply could not imagine living anywhere else any more.  But to answer the question:

Besides my dad, my mum, my sister, my brother, my cousins and my dearest friends – most of whom I have with me on Facebook, I also miss…

AussieGrub

Luckily, I have found Anzac Bikkies, Vegemite and good old Aussie meat pies at the British Corner Shop online (who also, by the way, also have the cheapest postage).  But I am not going to turn this blog into a big old advertisement.

I would be interested to know if any of you can name all of the things above.  If you can, you just made my day 🙂

As for what I DON’T miss about Australia the most, well that is a list which is much easier and a heck of a lot longer, but here are just a few:

  • Huntsman spiders
  • Snakes
  • Sharks
  • Blue-ringed Octopus
  • Stone fish
  • Box jellyfish
  • Feral cats
  • The annual culling of Kangaroos
  • The annual culling of Dingoes
  • The annual culling of Possums
  • Having my mailbox blown up on fireworks night
  • Freezing indoors in winter because you cannot afford heating
  • Sweltering in summer because you cannot afford air-conditioning

Here in Finland, it is too cold for snakes and spiders.  There are no sharks or other deadly marine life in the lakes of Finland.  Pets are treated like the treasured family members that they are, and if one happens to escape, the owner will always be quickly found as the law states that all pets must be microchipped.

I also don’t miss the racism against the native peoples of the country.  The Sami people have their own language and their own way of life.  This country has preserved both and Finland recognises Indigenous languages of the Sami people as a Finnish language.

Regardless of how rich or poor you are, you do not have to pay for heating.  It is a basic human right in Finland, which is probably a good thing, since temperatures fluctuate so much, from high 40’s in summer to -50 or below in winter.  All windows are triple-glazed.  The squirrels change colour too!  They are brown in summer and grey in winter.

While I do love Gubbi Gubbi Country (my tribal country on the east coast of what is now known as Australia), I also love this country in which I now live.

While some choices in life may be difficult, bordering on seemingly impossible, always make the choice that will be right for you, your health, your safety and your happiness.  If you are not happy or safe, make some changes, no matter how hard it might be.  The most important thing in the world is that you are okay.  Don’t let anybody take that away from you.

Have a wonderful, safe and happy year.

– Rosie xx

4 thoughts on “What I miss the most…

  1. I found you on Aussie Expats and am considering doing a blog too. I’m in the USA and only been here 12 months. While we’re really enjoying our time here I do get totally frustrated by some elements which brings on homesickness. I figured “venting” via blog might do me some good. I’ll enjoy reading your blog. I have a great friend back home who is from Finland and she visits often although I think Australia is her home for good now. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I run five blogs, keep a diary, write books and book reviews for a living. I won’t lie to you – writing does give you an outlet for those inner demons and those explosive happies. I just need to keep track of what to post and where 🙂

      Like

      • I started writing hand written letters and postcards etc back home (which are REALLY well received) and it gave me a taste of what a great media it is to vent and/or advise etc. It got me to thinking about writing a book but that is way too ambitious so I figured a blog might be a good ‘in-between’.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. In Finland, we have to pay for heating! Depending where You live and how, prices differ. In towns, we have so called: maintenance charge. It includes many things like removing snow. On Countryside, we pay for oil or electricity.

    Happy Thursday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

