FOREVER -In Memorium of AJ Malezer

FOREVER – A poem by Rosie Malezer (2016)

Let me tell you all a story that I have to tell
About a man I once cared for who put me through hell
He said, “I love you, my darling. You are my whole life.”
Then he got down on one knee and asked me to be his wife.

To celebrate, we made love and I bore him a son.
The child was so precious, loved by everyone.
But life changed. With his daddy’s fists, I was knocked to the floor
So I grabbed our young son and I raced out the door.

While running from his daddy, our safety was precarious.
My abuser was obsessed and completely nefarious.
Then early one morning, I checked on my son,
Only to find him cold and blue, no air in his lungs.

He was in the arms of the Goddess and I couldn’t breathe.
Taken by SIDS, my son had gone, but I had no reprieve.
His daddy came after me. He wanted to start again.
I changed my name, disappeared, because this man was insane.

I have travelled such a long way, now Deaf, almost blind
But I’ve fought each day like a warrior, trying to strengthen my spine.
My son, my Guardian Angel, out of sight’s not out of mind
Although you are with the Goddess now, my heart is your shrine.

I love you.
I miss you.
Forever.

aj


 

Published in the Malezer Mob’s Blackfella Bulletin (Issue 2 of 2016)

FOREVER © Rosie Malezer (2016)

All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

