Introducing Lyn J. Wiley – A Poet with Punch!

As a writer of non-fiction, novels and childrens’ books, I stepped away from my genre recently to read the work of someone whose work blew my mind.  This made me wonder if I would be able to master such a writing style… of prose and poetry.

Roses are red.
Sunflowers are yellow.
Lyn Wiley has a wonderful flair for poetry
…aaaaaand that makes one of us.

– Rosie Malezer (2015) *sigh*

Well, with that question quickly answered, I went running back to my own genre, but I couldn’t sleep until this great writer’s work was brought to light.

I had the pleasure of meeting an incredibly talented woman – Lyn J. Wiley –  through a mutual friend just a few months ago.  A mother of three, Lyn lives in Washington, USA and has been writing, thinking, living and breathing poetry ever since she learned how to write her name.  After reading just a few of her poems (or stanzas, as they are called), I was hooked on her every word. I still find it strange and quite new, as I had never been a fan of poetry in the past.  As it turns out, I just hadn’t read anything which I considered interesting or fun until Lyn’s work captured my attention.

Working together over the past month, Lyn and I have taken much of her work – work which she had written on napkins, scraps of paper or whatever was handy over the years – and put it into an eBook for you to read and enjoy. Many years in the making, these words are sure to astound, amuse, shock, mesmerise and boggle your brain. It teaches you that one single word can affect a person’s life drastically. Words can be soothing to the soul or can be used as a loaded weapon. It is up to you to make the choice in how you wield them when you speak, write or sign.

Cover-06

Lyn’s eBook publication – The Power of Words and Other Thoughts – is available for pre-order on Amazon Kindle. If you are a member of Kindle Unlimited, Lyn’s eBook is free to read but if you are not, it is available at a very small cost of $3.99 USD all-inclusive.


I had the privilege of interviewing Lyn about her work once the eBook was published:

Q: What inspired you to start writing poetry?

Lyn: I don’t know. All I know is that those interests emerged at the time I was learning to write.

Q: Do you remember the first poem you wrote?

Lyn: I recall an early fascination with poetry but do not recall my first poem.

Q: How does a poem begin for you – with an idea, a form or an image?

Lyn: Rhymes ‘come to me’ when situations or people inspire a specific thought. For reasons I don’t understand, those thoughts often come to me in rhyme.

Q: How important is accessibility of meaning? Should one have to work hard to “solve” the poem?

Lyn: I like poetry that is easily understood and also appreciate poetry that offers more veiled messages.

Q: What do you see as the role of humour in poetry?

Lyn: I believe we were meant to be responsible people and were meant to enjoy life at the same time. Said otherwise, in spite of our struggles and difficulties – life was meant to be joyful, fun.

I think the role humor plays in poetry is the same one it plays in life – to help us lighten up, keep our troubles in perspective and offer us an instant, delightful, lighthearted connection with others.

Q: Where do you write?

Lyn: I don’t have a writing place. I write whenever and wherever the mood strikes me. I am not a serious or frequent writer – I just jot ideas down occasionally, as they occur to me.

Q: What books are you reading right now?

Lyn: The Girl On The Train and No Place Else.

Q: Who are some of your favorite poets?

Lyn: Angelou Maya, Carolyn Forche and many others.

Q: What advice do you have for aspiring poets?

Lyn: Well… I don’t think of myself as a ‘poet’ because I do not write poetry feverishly or often. And when I do write it, I do so in a light-hearted manner.

The advice I would offer someone with any type of aspiration would be this: Everything good begins with a dream. Shore up your self-confidence and believe in yourself — then, envision your dreams and follow them joyfully, relentlessly.


The Power of Words and Other Thoughts is available for pre-order right now and will be delivered to your device when it is released on 29th October, 2015.  Do yourself a favour and read through these wonderful words yourself, or buy them for a friend or loved one as a gift for the upcoming festive season.

My rating:  5 out of 5 stars

– Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

