When seagulls multiply – A Karmic Krystal extract

Ahhh, memories.  Some are great.  Some, not so much.  I remember those days in the early 1970’s when we would go down to the local fish and chip shop, buy some lunch, and then sit on a bench by the sea wall to eat it.

Luckily, Krystal learns fast after making a mistake that altered the course of lunch that day…

…………………………….

(Karmic Krystal Book One – an extract – Copyright © 2015 Rosie Malezer)

During the daytime, my sisters and I normally play in the front yard, along with our beloved dog, Rusty.  We chase each other as fast as we can, making sure we stay within the fence line as we play tag.  After we run out of breath, my sisters and I take turns on the new swing set which our parents bought for us last Yule.  We also have new bats, balls and tennis racquets to play with so we don’t get bored and end up under our mum’s feet while she does her chores inside.  My sisters and I don’t always play at home, though.  On some weekends, our parents take us to the beach or the park.  It is a nice change from being in the yard all the time, especially with the fish and chip shops being so close by at the beach.

Shortly after we arrive at the beach, Dad finds us a nice table to sit at while Mum takes the three of us girls into the shop across the road.  Mum asks what we want but I always wonder why.  We seem to buy the same thing every time: fresh bread, lots of hot chips (wrapped in white paper), and if we are really good, we get a small piece of fish each too.

Returning to the table with our freshly cooked lunch, we take our seats as Dad tears off giant pieces from the white paper which the chips are wrapped in.  We use these as make-shift plates.  Mum then puts our bread and chips onto the paper with a pair of tongs that she has brought from home.  As Mum and Dad set up the food, I see a seagull on the sea wall, not very far from our table.  The tide is out and there are sand bars as far as the eye can see.  Looking back at me, the seagull looks lonely and a little bit hungry.  I reach over and grab a hot chip as an offering to the hungry bird but before I throw the chip, I blow on it gently so the seagull will not burn his beak.  When I throw the chip up into the air, the bird flaps its wings, jumps up into the air and catches the chip.  I cheer and clap my hands.  Mum immediately gets cranky and tells me that I should never feed the birds at the beginning of lunch.

“They are only to be fed when we have finished eating, Krystal!  How many times do I have to tell you that?” she says, frowning.

“But Mummy, he is hungry!” I pout and cross my arms, glaring at her.  Making the birds watch while we eat delicious hot food, especially when they are so hungry, is not fair to the birds.

When I turn around to look at the poor hungry seagull, I am shocked to find what seems like hundreds of birds standing in its place.  Dad looks over and says a few swear words under his breath.  I quickly cover my ears, giggling and pretending I didn’t hear what he said.  He looks over at the birds, still muttering under his breath.  As soon as Dad stands up to shoo them away, they all flap their wings and make a quick bee-line for our table, fighting over the hot chips on the paper, all-the-while crapping on everything underneath them.

Both of my parents fast give up trying to save what is left of the hot chips.  One bird drops a huge dollop of poop on Dad’s head.  My eyes widen with both shock and amusement.  I cover my mouth, trying so hard not to laugh while looking at the food and almost puking at what is left.  One glimpse of our lunch – or rather, the poopy remnants left behind – convinces my parents to make the wise choice of buying a new loaf of bread, another parcel of fish and chips (definitely hold the mayo after the poop-fest) and pay a visit to Grandpa’s house instead.

(end of extract)

up-PMCFD952FBRT4QEB

It never ceased to amaze me, as a kid, how quickly one seagull would turn into hundreds with just one chip 😉

– Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

