…if you just smile ♥

I loved today. Even though it is a day of sadness and rememberance of 9.11 – even though I shed tears – I felt truly grateful to be alive.

It is almost a year since I gained Deafhood. Almost six years since I married. Almost many things. But today when I received the manuscript for my first book from my Publisher, ready for worldwide release, all of my other problems faded from my mind.

It was very hard re-reading many parts of my book. I got angry. I cussed out loud many times at memories of a time gone by which almost killed me. But it didn’t. Here I am, still breathing, still writing and still planning my future.

I am profoundly Deaf, yet today I hear music. Playing over and over in my mind is one of my all time favourite songs.

f0de1ce2dd6da88e66bd5a4022b6f111

It plays and it plays, yet my stomach ulcer continues to burn. So tonight, I did something unthinkable…. I smiled as it continued to play.

I have so many things to be thankful for, and that one smile stopped the burning.

To all of the people who have touched my life, whether good or bad, I thank you for making me who I am today… because today I smiled.

– Rosie xx

 

Leave a Reply

