Karmic Krystal. Never piss off a 3 year old.

The first book in my Karmic Krystal series (YA Paranormal Horror) is almost ready for publication on Amazon Kindle.  At the moment, I am polishing off the finer points and trying not to make myself sick at the same time.

Krystal1_frontcover2

It took half of my day, trying to figure out how to embed unusual fonts into a Word document, and Word is having quite the tantrum ever since I did.  Little does Word know that authors can be just as stubborn as computers 😉

Please enjoy another extract from my latest book.  But please, be warned, if you are not a fan of horror, don’t read any further…


(Extract from “Once Upon A Karma” – Copyright © 2015 by Rosie Malezer)

With only 12 weeks to go until Yule is upon us again, we go downstairs to give Rusty some exercise.  Tania holds a tennis ball which had seen much better days.  We all take turns throwing the ball to each other while Rusty chases it.  Not only does it give him a good workout, but it increases our hand-eye coordination.  When Rusty is all tuckered out, he runs into the shade, drinks from his large bowl of water and lies down panting.  I decide to do the same.  Sitting next to Rusty, I put my head on his chest as his ribs go up and down.  He pants so he can cool his body down and get his breath back.  After an hour of play, we go upstairs for dinner.

The following day, Leena goes downstairs with her backpack and gets on her bicycle.  She no longer needs training wheels because she is now so good at riding.  With the year almost over, Leena will soon go to the big girl’s school.  It will then be Tania’s turn to go to kindergarten.

As Leena was leaves the yard, Mum opens the door to call out to her.  Leena’s lunch is on the counter in the kitchen and Mum doesn’t want her to go hungry.  The moment the door opens, Rusty runs down the stairs.  He wants to have a race with Leena when he sees her on her bike.  Rusty is so excited that he runs all the way to her bike, which Leena turns around.  Before anybody realises it, Rusty runs straight onto the road.

Without warning, a speeding motorist comes seemingly from out of nowhere.  The car hits Rusty so hard that he is thrown into the air, landing about 15 metres further than where he stood only seconds before.  I hear my mother scream at the same time that I hear the motorist’s screech of tyres, bringing the car momentarily to a halt.  Leena screams and cries as she drops her bike and runs back to the road.   It takes about 20 seconds before I realise what is going on.  Following my mother down the stairs, I once again, hear a screech of tyres as the car speeds off.  That is when I see my beloved Rusty, bleeding and broken on the road.  I run to him as fast as my little legs will let me and put my head on his chest, just as I had done the day before.  Rusty doesn’t move.  He is not breathing.  I know by touching his broken body that Rusty’s soul is gone.  As I hear his ribs shatter under my ear, I know that he is dead.

Trembling with rage and sorrow, I look up and can still see car in the distance.  My face is searing hot as I point my finger at the car.  Inside my head, I hear the drivers screams of agony as his soul is forcibly ripped from his body.  The car comes to an eventual stop in the middle of the road.  Knowing that almost all of Rusty’s bones have shattered, I transfer the same demise onto the driver, with one exception.  Every bone in the driver’s body crumbles to dust one by one as he sits at the steering wheel of his now stationary vehicle.  I can sense his consciousness, his terror and his pain.  I can also sense that he has done this many times, not caring at the devastation he leaves behind.  You need to feel every bit of destruction you have caused.  My mother looks down the road at the car in the middle of the road.  She does not hear the driver’s screams of agony.  None of my family knows what is happening to the speeding driver.  They do see what is left of his body on the news that night, just 500 metres away from our home.  The camera shows a huge blob of skin-covered blood as it pours out of the car when the police arrives.  An eyeball rolls back and slides from its socket.  Quickly, the police try to cover it with a white sheet, but the sheet leaves nothing to the imagination.  It puzzles the newsreader how a human body can wind up so mangled and broken inside, even though the car that the body was driving doesn’t have a single scratch on it.  In our grief, the whole family feel absolutely no remorse for a speeding driver who had killed our dog before driving off without a second thought.  They shudder, however, when the newsreader tells viewers that he appears to have died while fully conscious.

“He killed Rusty!” screams Leena.  She sobs and wipes away her tears with her pyjama sleeves.  Mum and Dad hug her as they listen to the news story.

“Yeah, he did,” I say, glaring at the television screen.  “An eye for an eye,” I whisper before going to bed.

(end of extract)


I already know how the series will end, but Krystal could change that at any time.  If she has the power to dole out such horrific punishments at the age of 3, she has the power to do a great deal more.  Here’s hoping the world is still intact by the time she is an adult 😉

– Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

