HC’s Authonomy is closing its doors

Back in April of 2015, I finished working on my first autobiography.  It dealt only with the time of my life where I endured Domestic Violence on a scale of 11 out of 10.  I survived.  Many don’t.  My son died.  I lost my hearing and almost all of my eyesight.

I was very new back then to the world of books and publishing.  After much Googling, I ended up finding a site called Authonomy.  It was run by Harper Collins and allows authors to share their work with other authors.  The author of each manuscript would automatically have their work copyrighted and protected, as the dates on Authonomy could be used in a court of law to prove when you originally wrote the work, should somebody try to steal your work as their own.

It took a while for me to find my footing, but I ended up uploading my first manuscript for CHANGE YOUR NAME AND DISAPPEAR: A terrifying true tale of survival.  Several authors pounced on it, read it, rated it, critiqued it, corrected any typos (a major bonus due to my blindness), and within a month I was signed by a major publisher in London.

Authonomy

I am grateful to Harper Collins for creating a site such as Authonomy.  I made many friends, met many editors and authors and learned a lot of lessons about the world of writing, reading, publicising, printing and distributing my work.

Since April 2015, I now have seven books under my belt, and I owe a lot of my success to Authonomy and my fellow authors.

Books

To all of the wonderful authonomites I met on my journey with Authonomy, I will miss you.  I look forward to reading your work as it is published in the future.

– Rosie xx

Leave a Reply

