Attending appointments alone without interpreter

Here is another card that I find is essential to have with me at all times.  My family cannot always attend appointments with me and many reception staff in Finland do not speak English.

As Finland still deny my rights to an interpreter for Deaf (because I can speak Finnish but cannot hear it due to being newly Deaf), this card lets the receptionist know that I am not an absentee – just a Deafie.

Rather than being hit with a non-attendance fee at my appointments, I am instead assisted by staff.  I also find that the people I have the appointment with are less inclined to be snippy when you ask them to use pen and paper to communicate.

These two cards are laminated together, back to back, so if the reception staff do not speak English, it does not become a problem at all.

Leave a Reply

